February 5, 2016

  • Real Life

    Yesterday was a real life day. I'm having more and more of them as the Facebook shine wears off. It's like beating an addiction, but it's all good.

    It was the first day using my new turntable. Oh what fun it was digging out my box of OLD albums and playing them all day. It was such a mood pick-me-up. Music was a huge part of my life...until it wasn't. After Dylan's death, I actually had to avoid it. Every song triggered memories and made me cry. I'm too old to appreciate new music. So at least yesterday the answer was old music. By old I mean sixties, seventies and eighties, the music I grew up with, the artists I went to see in concert. A couple of times I found myself dancing. That can't be bad.

    I put the turntable in the living room. While deciding where to put the albums, I thought it might be time to clean off the bookshelves, arrange and cull books. It turned out to be a much bigger project than I initially expected. Going through William's books was emotional. I'm sorry to say I really hadn't paid much attention to his shelves before. I spent a lot of time browsing and arranging, deciding to keep rather than donate. It's impossible to part with my own books, apparently it's also impossible to part with his books also. (One son inherited book hoarding.) Needless to say, I didn't finish the chore yesterday, but I did get 3 out of 4 book shelves done. Will finish up today. My lungs will be happy when the dust settles. (Does anyone dust behind the books on their shelves?)

    image

    This shelf is just cookbooks and gardening books. Below is mostly art and architecture.

    image

    Happy weekend everyone!

    Addendum:

    Had to add because this is weighing on my mind. Last night, in response to a Facebook entry about my social security still not coming through for me, I received a private message from a long time online friend who hasn't really participated much on Facebook. She responded to my hypothetical question, "what do people do who have no savings, have a mortgage, have debt, but have no income?" Her response was, "they are me." While this just reinforced how lucky I am, I felt her fear and had no answers for her. I couldn't think of a thing she hasn't thought of herself these last two years of no work, and finding herself in her sixties and unhireable. She's afraid of losing her house at this point, but mortgage payments are still lower than any rents of apartments in her area. "There but for the grace of god go I."

Comments (5)

  • Here's to having more days with dancing! Don't feel bad about the love of books - we have so many books that we had to get 2 more book cases. Every time my husband starts to cull books he starts with mine! Needless to say we've struck a deal - for every book of mine he wants to discard I get to select one of his. It has greatly reduced the indiscriminate disposal of tomes. As for your friend's situation - there are jobs out there. It is a matter of being willing to be a greeter at the grocery or take that part-time minimum wage job. If it were me and I was in danger of losing my home, I'd be applying at McDonald's and Wal-Mart in a heart beat.

  • @murisopsis: I think adding bookshelves is the way to go. =) Yes, I wondered but didn't ask what outside her field she's tried.

  • This is a big work , Christine and moving .
    I tried recently to put on the computer with excel all of the books in the houses classified by the place where they are stocked . A wee k has been necessary! :)
    Love
    Michel

    • I'm sure mine wasn't as big a job as yours, Michel. I am just dusting and reorganizing the shelves do that books are arranged by genre. I would never have the patience to list them on a spreadsheet.
      Hope you are well. <3

  • I go through my small library once in awhile. My wife does all the finaces and if she went to heaven first, I would be in trouble--probably call my single daughter to pay bills for me from my account.

    I saw a person my age at McDonalds. All they did was clean tables and get rid of trash. The customers loved her and she was happy.

    Wishing you the best.

    Frank

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment