January 15, 2016

  • It Works!

    10511142_10203348725910787_588046530424917028_n

    Hello Friends, old and new. I'm not yet sure how this all works, but I'm quite happy that my xanga seems to be intact. The timing is most fortuitous as I really need to do some blogging and Facebook isn't meeting my needs at the moment.

    Perhaps someone can answer a question or two? I just saw and replied to comments that were left on my previous testing post. Years ago return comments were left on the commenter's blog. I tried to do that but noticed you don't all have active blogs, at least none that I can see, and not all of your names were hyperlinks. Would someone please explain that? I might need a little tutorial to get caught up.

    So, where do I begin? I believe I was still blogging here when my son died on October 4, 2010 so maybe before I start jumping back and forth, I'll start by saying that my husband passed away on November 26, 2015. On Thanksgiving. There's still so much to grasp and do and deal with, I thought blogging might help me sort things in my head.

    If I can figure out how to add photos again I'll do that too. I have a feeling this will be easier on my laptop than on my phone so a trip to the geniuses at the Apple Store is in my future.

    For those who don't know me, I will write a brief intro in my next entry, once I'm sure this goes through without a hitch.

Comments (11)

  • I'm so sorry to hear about your husband. Blogging is good therapy and although we are a much smaller community, xangans do really care about each other.
    As for comments and replies - if you have an active account you can blog. If you have even and inactive account you can comment. If you use the "reply" link on a comment it will send an email notification to the commenter with a note stating a reply was made so that they can check the blog. Initial comments to your blog should come to you as an email with the comment included.
    Photos are fairly easy to add but resizing them is a pain. To add photos click on the add media tab at the top left of the blog entry page. That will take you to your library where you click on the upload button then search computer folders and select your photo. Just remember that if you have it sideways in the file it will be uploaded sideways and it is soooo hard to fix. I always make sure it is edited in my photo file before adding it to the blog. For blog entries there are 2 tabs at the top of the box - visual and text. The text box is great for pasting from word but the visual box shows the actual photos instead of the code for them. When adding photos I switch back and forth between them to make sure my photos are how I want them...
    Hope this helps! Welcome back!

  • I am sorry to hear of your loss---that is hard. Val above said it well. I am not high tech----82 years old and married 60 years.

    Glad you can share here.

    Frank

  • @murisopsis: thank you! Very helpful.

  • @HUMOR_ME_NOW: hi Frank, thank you for reading and commenting. Where can I read yours? The link doesn't work.

  • @Wissh: I have a Xanga site, but I have not been posting forf quite awhile. Just click my user name and that should take you to it.

  • @HUMOR_ME_NOW: frank, I tried that but it just tells me it's an inactive page and archives aren't available.

  • @Wissh: I checked and Xanga has me active until May.

    Sorry, besides I have no posts. I will try one later to see if it works

  • found you again!

  • so very, very sorry for your loss ~

  • @TLS: hi there. Nice to see some of you still have access.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply