February 8, 2016

  • Post Superbowl 50

    So the game this year was a real sleeper....unless you are defense minded, or enjoy fumbles, turnovers and penalties. Broncos 24, Panthers 10. Big money must have been on the Panthers though. I wouldn't have cared about the outcome much, but I have to have someone to root for so I chose the Broncos because a son and a niece live in Denver. I was glad they won so Peyton Manning can retire on top. If he chooses to retire. Apparently I missed some good commercials, as well as the brouhaha over the political tone of the half time show. On one of the commercials I did catch that this is the last season of The Good Wife. I don't watch a lot of TV, but that is one show I have watched from the beginning, so I'll miss it.

    I almost missed the game itself because I had the puppy bowl on and it was kitten half time. Cupcake was enthralled. I'm not sure I would have had the heart to change the channel on her if she hadn't gone off to be distracted by her kibble.

    The morning was taken up by Sunday morning news shows. While I'm still focused and paying attention, I'm turned off by how ugly things turn once the caucuses and primaries begin. Despite promises to the contrary, it's heading in that direction as usual.

    I did finally get the rest of my downstairs bookshelves done. That was pretty much the point when I remembered there are bookcases upstairs too.  I finished a book this morning too, and was about to choose another when I vowed to finish the other two I am reading first. Does anyone else read more than one book at a time? I'm not sure when (or why) I started that silliness.

    I am now a few movies into my quest to see the Oscar nominees. Not all of them of course, just some of the major ones. There are about half a dozen or so that I'd still like to see. Does anyone here have Oscar Parties? I know two families who dress up as though they will be walking the red carpet themselves. I will watch the beginning, the fashion and intro monologue. In pajamas. Rarely do I stay up until the end. Maybe I will this year since I'll have seen the movies in that category.

     

    Happy Chinese New Year and Fat Tuesday. Or Shrove Tuesday, day before Ash Wednesday and Mardi Gras.

Comments (5)

  • I do read more than one book at a time sometimes ~ but don't seem to get as much reading done as I'd like ~

  • @fwren: Me neither, but in my case it's the Internet's fault. Rather my lack of self control and the ability to stay off the Internet, though I seem to be doing a bit better of late.

  • We were a house divided - we had friends over who were hoping the Panthers would win while Sparky and I were cheering for the Broncos. We had fun. I was unimpressed with the commercials. The singing sheep and the wiener dogs were the only really cute ads. The monkey-dog-baby commercial was just creepy. I remember several years ago there were xanga Oscar parties where everyone would have conversations in the comments and it was so much fun - all the avatars would be dressed up (photoshopped) and predictions would be made. I sure miss the old xanga...

  • @murisopsis: I loved the Dorito ad then found out it made Pro-Choice people angry.

  • I usually read three books at a time---slowly. I don't do any fiction reading--never did other than what was forced on me in school.

    I have not gone to a theater in decades. My wife and single daughter went to see the new Star Wars and loved it so much my wife bought the whole DVD series.

    I loved most of the commercials. Like Val, some were creepy.

    It was a defensive game. The Panther Quarterback was so disgusted that he only gave the media about three minutes and left.

    I looked at my bookcase---full of Bibles that I bought, but now I read scripture on my Mimi-I-Pad----all free. Lol And any translation.

    My wife returns today, so I have to clean the house, change the bedding, wash towels and underwear, and do grocery shopping. She will be home by 3 p.m. I am not yet dressed and need to take a shower. I was so tired that after letting out the dog I hooked up the oxygen and went back to bed for two hours----very unusual for me.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment