March 26, 2016

  • Easter Weekend

    Today was about running errands and in a short while I will do some pre cooking for tomorrow. We really don't do an annual traditional Easter dinner with regard to menu. I'm going to bake today and make some homemade scalloped potatoes, one of those dishes that are even better the next day. Tomorrow I'll reheat it and bake the smallest ham I could find, with a pineapple glaze. Greens will be fresh baby asparagus and a multi veggie salad. The family has gotten smaller and smaller but I haven't adjusted my cooking enough. This is something I really need to work on as I'm not a big fan of leftovers, certainly not meat. William was the leftover eater in the family.

    There were only two of us at dinner, but I made a full dinner with sides and salad. It made it more special than any old day. Son works evening shift so I cook and he eats when he gets home around midnight. It was nice sitting and talking through the meal. We did acknowledge all those not at the table...both other sons/brothers and William. The rest of the day was pretty quiet, we both spent it reading.